Research Committee

CUGH Members interested in joining this Committee should contact

CUGH recognizes the importance of collaborative multidisciplinary research in academic global health. The Research Committee’s goal is to carve out avenues for expanding collaborative global health research and research training. The Committee is dedicated to sharing, evaluating and advancing strategies that promote global health research. Additionally, the Committee is charged with assisting in reinforcing relationships with funding agencies and organizations.

Research Committee Members
Liz Grant - University of Edinburgh
Richard Deckelbaum - Columbia University
Madelon Finkel - Cornell University
Muhiuddin Haider - University of Maryland
Tasdik Hasan (TAC Representative)
Ryan Hodgeman (TAC Representative)
King Holmes - University of Washington
Peter Kilmarx - Fogarty International Center (NIH) (Co-chair of the Research Committee)
Philip Landrigan - Boston College
Sarah Matthews (TAC Representative)
Aydogan Ozcan - University of California, Los Angeles
Jonathan Patz - University of Wisconsin
Shadi Saleh - American University of Beirut
Jeremy Schwartz - Yale University
Raymond Terry - Morgan State University
Jim Thrasher - University of South Carolina
Tom Quinn - Johns Hopkins University
Judy Wasserheit - University of Washington (Co-chair of the Research Committee)

Recent Announcements

Connecting research capacity with the needs of countries, communities, NGOs, and companies poses a challenge and an opportunity. To address this, we have created an online platform where funded or unfunded research questions are posted.

Members of CUGH, please visit our Speakers Bureau for an impressive list of Emerging Leaders that are available to share their expertise! Please go to for more information on the individuals and the Speakers Bureau!